Well I Got My DVR R15 replacement.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

icee_smooth

Original poster
Oct 11, 2006
As the topic says, my DIRECTV DVR Plus receiver replacement finally came this week and I am in the process of installing it now. It notice that comparing the two, the new model sent to me is bigger than the one it replaces. The replacment model is a R15-100 while the old model is R15-300.

So I guess what I'm asking is if the R15-100 is the latest version of the DirecTV DVR Plus, or is it some refurbished model that DirecTV sent to me. I want to know because the representative stated I would receive a whole new receiver and that's what I want...not something that's been refurbished.

From what I understand, R15-100 is the newest version of the R15. It comes from a different supplier than the -300 and -500. There is usually a refurbished or reconditioned sticker on the bottom of the unit if it is a refurb. However, I work in the electronics industry and can say that refurb. units are often as good or better than new. New units are not tested as thoroughly. It really depends on what they replaced for the refurb. For example, I wouldn't want a unit that had an old hard drive.

However, I work in the electronics industry and can say that refurb. units are often as good or better than new. New units are not tested as thoroughly. It really depends on what they replaced for the refurb. For example, I wouldn't want a unit that had an old hard drive.

I hear that from a LOT of sales people, but I've purchased 4 different products that were refurbs, and I could not be more angry. ALL of them were giant pieces of junk, some even DOA, which should never happen because it's "inspected & tested even more than new" (as I was promised) My sister has also had the same experience with refurb Sony electronics.

Personally, I stay away from refurbs, I'm sure there are some really good things out there, but I do not see it myself, nor does anyone that I know see it.