West coast dealer recommendations?

Are you moving to Europe?

I’m British by birth, have dual citizenship. I travel back-and-forth, I guess I’ll have to pick one eventually, when I retire :)

My plan is to get something working using one of FTA DVB-S satellites visible here. My interest isn’t in receiving the FTA satellites with a north American footprint, except to test. I already have s cable subscription, and only speak English :)

I have a Sky Q subscription already at my UK location, but that’s only useful when I’m there, and with the pandemic travel restrictions that hasn’t been much in the past couple of years. I’m thinking of cancelling my (expensive) Sky subscription, and using Freesat instead (same orbital slot).

If I can figure out a way to still enjoy UK TV when I’m not physically in the UK, that would be icing on the cake, hence the interest in DVR. Multiple tuners because the UK channels still insist on scheduling ‘the good stuff’ in competing slots during prime time, and shows don’t repeat nearly as much as they do on U.S. networks, so conflicts are much more common. From experience, with two tuners, I get occasional conflicts, with four I don’t.

I subscribe to Britbox, AcornTV, etc. in the U.S. but it’s ‘UK TV for an American Audience’, not the same at all. Ditto with BBC America.

Reactions: c-spand
Ok, now i think that I understand. The hardware is being installed in the UK and you view the recordings or live streams here in the US?

With the way that these orbital slots are managed, European satellite viewers don't have the same requirements for bliindscan as transponder table are actively and reliably updated.

Reactions: Paul_C
The hardware is being installed in the UK and you view the recordings or live streams here in the US?