What EHD should I get for VIP211?

MisterJim

Original poster
Nov 3, 2008
NE Ohio
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie and I have done some searches to find out what brand/type of
EHD I should buy to use the DVR function on my 211. I find conflicting answers in some of the threads so I thought I would ask outright!
Should I only buy one that is AC powered or are certain USB powered models OK? Are some brands better suited for Dish and if so, are only certain models within the brand name acceptable. I don't want to buy one (hopefully tomorrow) and bring it home only to find out it won't work with Dish Network.

Thanks for any help and I have learned a lot by reading threads on this site!

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie and I have done some searches to find out what brand/type of
EHD I should buy to use the DVR function on my 211. I find conflicting answers in some of the threads so I thought I would ask outright!
Should I only buy one that is AC powered or are certain USB powered models OK? Are some brands better suited for Dish and if so, are only certain models within the brand name acceptable. I don't want to buy one (hopefully tomorrow) and bring it home only to find out it won't work with Dish Network.

Thanks for any help and I have learned a lot by reading threads on this site!
Simple answer. AC powered ONLY , 750 GB max and about any Western Digital to be safe, NOT Seaqate, sleep mode issues.

Thanks KAB! That is what I thought was the correct way to go so I will shop for a WD model with AC power. I really don't need more than 750gb (in fact a 500 will do for my requirements). I only want to record a few shows or movies and then watch them and delete them. I really want the pause, FF and rewind features that I use on my other receiver (a VIP622) all the time. But my wife likes to watch her shows on that TV and I go to my "mancave" where the VIP211 resides and I miss the DVR features. Soon I should be a "happy camper".