What Everyone Is Too Polite to Say About Steve Jobs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not really a negative.

I took a shot at starting a business. I tell people that it proved that as an entrapaneur, I am a darned good engineer! I believed in the technology. I could see the applications. I could convey the vision to others. However, I couldn't generate the cooperation and enthusiasm that was necessary between the providers and the users to move it forward.

That's what Jobs excelled at. He could see the non-obvious possibility and present it in such a way that everybody just knew it was the right answer to a problem they didn't even know they had.

The article is misleading regarding Gates. Bill Gates never gave a dime until, swamped by lawsuits and bad press, his lawyers convinced him to do so to improve his public image, convincing him that it would not affect his lifestyle at all.

But I'll admit, he's more than catching up.

He and Edison were a lot alike, in many ways....
cept Edison had many more "Inventions" i.e. patents..Edison invented things that did not exist (i.e. the lightbulb) while Steve Jobs just improved existing technology (i.e. the Cell Phone) They were both brilliant men but a better comparison to Steve Jobs would be Alexander Graham Bell. ( Who invented many things other than his "improvements" to the telephone)

Actually the dark side of Jobs has been well reported over the years. however when someone dies we tend to celebrate their accomplishments and virties rather than point out their faults and failures. After a period of mourning the reporting will become more balanced.

cept Edison had many more "Inventions" i.e. patents..Edison invented things that did not exist (i.e. the lightbulb) while Steve Jobs just improved existing technology (i.e. the Cell Phone) They were both brilliant men but a better comparison to Steve Jobs would be Alexander Graham Bell. ( Who invented many things other than his "improvements" to the telephone)