What is C-Band???

Status
Please reply by conversation.

chucksrt

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 12, 2005
Bensalem, pa
I am new to the satellite thing and I keep hearing terms like C-Band, KU-Band,etc. Someone made a reference that C-Band was the signal before dish gets it and compresses it? How do you get C-Band, what equipment would I need? The whole reason I went to satellite was to get the best pic. I can, But I found that Comcast has A better pic. But if there is a way to get the signal before the companys hack them all up, I'd like to know!
Chuck

someone more technical will be able to give you more detailed info. c-band is the big 8 - 10 foot dishes. the picture is better because it is not compressed. dish and direct get their signals from the sky uncompressed, they send it back up into the sky to their satellites (compressing the signal) then your dish gets it from dish or direct in a compressed form.

I forget where I got this snippet from ... if you are the original author say so and proper credit will be given:

The scientists who developed the first microwave radar systems during World War II assigned a letter designation to each microwave frequency band. For example, the 800 MHz to 2 GHz frequency range was called the L band, 2 to 3 GHz: the S band; 3 to 6 GHz: the C band; 7 to 9 GHz: the X band; 10 to 17 GHz: the Ku band; and 18 to 22 GHz: the Ka band. At the dawn of the Satellite Age during the mid-1960s, microwave engineers decided to carry forward the existing radar terminology and apply it to the communications satellite bands as well.

So as you can see, the band descriptor refers to the frequency at which the signal is carried. The DBS frequency (i.e. E*, D* & V*) is slotted within the Ku band (11.x to 12.x ... I forget the exact numbers) listed above. In the case of DBS the LNBf then down coverts from those frequencies to the L band range to be carried across RG6 to the IRD.