Where to start...

ocelot_ark

Original poster
Oct 13, 2004
Hey guys!
I'm new to Dish and PVR. I just moved in with my grandparents who have Dish. They have America's Top 180 hooked up in 3 rooms. I have one in my room. I'm WANTING to get one of the no fee PVR units and set it up in my room in conjunction with the NBA League Pass subscription I'm getting. I'd love to be able to "network" my PVR to my pc to archive the Mavericks entire season. I don't even know if that's possible, but man that'd be cool.

After some initial reading and browsing I've seen some guys talking about different types of satellite dishes and how they affect your choice in receiver choice. Is there anything I should look out for regarding this? Should I crawl out to the side of the house and check for a model number on my dish? LOL.

Also, while looking on ebay for various PVR models I've found that everyone is quick to point out that their auction includes a programming card. What is that for? The ones we have now don't even have cards. If I get one of these units off of ebay do I need to make sure it has a specific colored card? And what happens if I get one on ebay and there is a "Balance owed?" Will I have to pay the balance before i can use the unit?

Lastly, are there any deals with Dish where I can just contact them directly and lease one of these units? Preferably a no fee unit, but I guess one with fees wouldn't be out of the question. How much does leasing add on monthly?

I know...it's like a newbie bombardment. I just wanted to get you guys' expert opinions before I went out and spent $200 on something that wouldn't even work with my current set up.

The only DVR's with no fee are the 501/508/721.

For all others the fee is $4.98/month.

All 501/508/510/522/721 & 921 will work with either LNB (legacy or Dishpro).