Which combo feed LNB configurations or LNBF's works well or use 1 mtr dish for Ku?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

wen

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
May 25, 2007
My main dish is a 12 ft Paraclipse Classic Polar T. I have a BSC-621-2D which came with no directions and almost no specifications and some web sites say it is for experimental use. It does not work as well as the BSC-421 (which at least has markings for f/d) location on the feedhorn and seems to work with my old Chaparral feedhorn or with the one that came with it if you can shim it to fit. The body is tapered so the fit varies from poor to worse. Comparing these two, the BSC421 works better. The ku on the BSC-621-2D varies from pretty good to not so good and the sweet spot is several actuator movements from the sweet spot for the c-band lnb.

I also have a Chaparral co-rotor II+ (not wideband) and 1992 vintage good lnbs for C & Ku band.

I also have a Chaparral feed that has both a C-band feedhorn with a Ku band feedhorn slightly offset in the polar axis direction, but in the same plane as the C-band LNB. It uses two polarators (one for each lnb). (I have not found this configuration listed on the Chaparral website)

Since I don't have anyway to control the polarator, If I simply remove the polarators, will the polarity be the same as the LNB or is there any easy way to block it to one polarity? That would at least let me check how well these four configurations compare without spending more on a polarity controller!

Does anyone know how well these configurations compare to save me a little time in narrowing down what to test? I also have two 1 meter motorized dishes that I will be comparing the ku band feeds against with a single Titanium Satellite Ku Band PLL LNBF and a dual Avenger Ku Band PLL322-2S LNBF on the other dish!

Reactions: martin-f