Which WiFi Adapter works with Joey, and Some Problems With Home Media Controls

jcracken

Original poster
Jun 16, 2013
United States
Hi everybody, and sorry if this question has already been answered as I'm new to working with my DVR extensively, but I have a TVMOBiLi server on my home network that I've configured so that my Dish Hopper and one of the Joey's that has a direct Ethernet connection can connect to it. However, I have two other Joey's that need a direct connection to the internet to use the Home Media server. Is there any WiFi Adapter I can buy to connect it through WiFi? It won't be very feasible for me to connect either through Ethernet. My second question is, I have a problem when using the server on the devices that can see it in the first place. When playing media off of it, I can't fast forward or rewind at all. I googled around and found a thread that describes the same problem (I can't link to it as I'm a new user, the thread is on this site and its name is "Hopper Home Media Controls") but there it's just accepted as a flaw and yet I haven't found this issue anywhere else, so it doesn't seem very widespread. Do I need to change my server somehow to get this to work? Thanks ahead of time.

Just enable bridging in the hopper broadband menu. That will pass the IP to the Joey's.

Thank you for that--I thought it had already been enabled and when I talked to a Dish tech support agent she said that I needed to use a direct Ethernet cable. So that question has been answered, but I still have the other question about not being able to go forwards or backwards.

Thank you for that--I thought it had already been enabled and when I talked to a Dish tech support agent she said that I needed to use a direct Ethernet cable. So that question has been answered, but I still have the other question about not being able to go forwards or backwards.