would the FCC consider a petition?

danielle_s

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 27, 2004
Dodge City, Ks
I was wondering if maybe we all here at Satelliteguys.us could make a petition and send it to the FCC. This would obviously cut down on customer comments but I think if they would accept it this could help our cause. Plus example petitions could be created so that we can print them out and get people to sign them that live in our neighborhoods.

What do you think?

I am new to VOOM--just got it installed yesterday, also only been on the forum a couple of weeks and was or is there an easy way to get people involved in an email campaign to whatever entities (FCC, etc) to save VOOM? Or is it strictly financial, on the part of Charlie Dolan and so therefore, our input to the FCC would not, ultimately, save VOOM in any form?

IF there is a specific ruling or proposed ruling (I plead ignorance on this, not having been on board very long) that would affect the future of VOOM?

If so, a concerted effort to post the specifics of how Forum members could email or telephone a specific office or person and exactly what to say--could go a long way.

An example: Last fall, as a C-band subscriber, I saw one of my favorite channels (Lifetime--I watch Unsolved Mysteries--available nowhere else) leave C-band. I got on the C-band 4dtv Forum and posted information on exactly who to email or telephone and what to say and when to do it--a lot of people responded by doing this. I kept the thread alive by continuing to post the contact information weekly so that new members could access it easily.

Result: Lifetime will return to C-band this month via NPS, along with a new channel, Hallmark--not to the KU side, but the regular C-band.

Other channels have left C-band--only one other has returned--Speed channel, but to KU only and we are told Lifetime will return to regular C-band.