XFinity vs Verizon Fios?

hallrk

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 28, 2006
I will be getting one of these two very soon. Just wanted to know what are the pros and cons of each? I'm just getting into the 21st Century and will be getting broadband Internet for the first time at home. The prices for each look comparable to me. Verizon includes a router and access to their wifi hotspots with their service. I didn't see anything about getting a router from Comcast. So if anyone can give some advice or pointers on who and what to get it would be appreciated. :)

Hard to answer, as the services are different in each area. Just like in some areas FIOS is a regular cable system and in other areas its a Fiber to the Home service. :D

Hard to answer, as the services are different in each area. Just like in some areas FIOS is a regular cable system and in other areas its a Fiber to the Home service. :D
no FIOS is fiber to the home (ont on the side of the house)..but it hasnt been converted to Video over IP in all areas (yet) (kinda like cables switched video)The picture is crystal clear because of the fiber.. Internet has speeds up to 100 meg ( but i don't know the price)

There are places in Boston where FIOS just just a regular cable system.
In some areas u "might" still be able to get analog channels but they been turned off for the most part and on some older olts the speeds are the same as cable (thats probably the Boston Area) but it is always fiber to the home with a ONT on the side of the house

In some areas u "might" still be able to get analog channels but they been turned off for the most part and on some older olts the speeds are the same as cable (thats probably the Boston Area) but it is always fiber to the home with a ONT on the side of the house

That's the way it looks where I live in northern Virginia. I'm not getting the TV service. Just the Internet.