HDTV approved

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by RidgeRunner, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. RidgeRunner

    RidgeRunner Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm about to buy some parts to add a second KU dish. I've been shopping for a switch and a LNBF and a switch. I've noticed that some LNBFs say "HDTV approved" I don't know what makes it approved but I can imagine there would be a difference, but some of the switches say the same thing. So what makes a switch special for HDTV?
     
    #1
  2. Stevemo

    Stevemo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your receiver and your TV need to be HD, that's it. The labeling is designed to confuse and trick people who haven't studied before they go shopping.
    Cheers, Steve
     
    #2
  3. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    On the GEOSATpro LNBFs we use the term HD ready or HD compatible to answer the endless question, "Does this receive digital channels".

    No difference, just answers questions...
     
    #3
  4. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,021
    Likes Received:
    251
    kinda like TV antennas that say "HDTV ready" when your 30 year old antenna works just fine
     
    #4
  5. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    If there are two products on the shelf and mine says "HDTV", I'll make a sale and the other guy won't. :)

    If you need general guidance on switches, see the FAQ:
    http://www.satelliteguys.us/threads/134124-Switch-setups-simplified

    I don't know your goals nor intentions, but the Standard PLL LNBF from SatellliteAV, and the Ecoda 22khz switch both come highly recommended.
    Assuming they fit your needs, of course.
     
    #5
  6. waylew

    waylew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    969
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yup,30+ year old RatShak VU 160.:D
     
    #6
  7. RidgeRunner

    RidgeRunner Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well Anole my intentions are to setup a fixed 75cm dish, I'm not 100% sure but I'm leaning towards 30 degrees. I have everything I need except a LNBF and a switch. I will also be needing a geostat micro had which appears to be highly recommend. Although I do not need the receiver right away but I do want to be HDTV capable eventually.

    I kinda figured what you guys were posting on HDTV, but I thought I would double check.
     
    #7
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    205
    There is an authorized reseller selling the MicroHD receiver on Ebay for $108 with FREE shipping. I've dealt with him multiple times, and had good service every time. http://www.ebay.com/itm/microHD-GEO...US_Satellite_TV_Receivers&hash=item3f1a591c69
     
    #8
  9. madmadworld

    madmadworld SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    bought a nos outdoor antenna (1969) on ebay awhile back packaging said it got Color TV........ tooo funny

    using some lnb's here from the 90s........... don't tell them their getting HD stuff
     
    #9
  10. sar2012

    sar2012 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone said that the new generation Geostat MicroHD will be on sale in a month. Is it true? Any ideal about the cost of this new divice?
     
    #10
  11. phlatwound

    phlatwound FTA Bumpkin
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    14
    #11

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri