1 meter or 90cm dish

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by SkySurfer80, Jun 26, 2019.

  1. SkySurfer80

    SkySurfer80 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Tennessee
    So I am upgrading from a 76cm to either a 36" or a 1 meter dish. I have a sg6100 motor that advertises up to 1.4 meter, which I know is wrong, but I want to see if any of you have had the same motor and what was the biggest dish you had working on this thing. I want to get a 1 meter since I can for the same price as a 36" but if the motor cant move it I will stick with a 36. Any of you pushed a 39x36 dish with this motor or should I just stick with a 36"? I am not certain if a 39x36 would really pull in much better than a straight 36" anyways.

    Of course if it were able to push a 1.1 meter or 1.2 I would buy one of those. But i seriously doubt it. I dont know why they make the 1.4 meter claim on the box?
     
  2. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    1,057
    Location:
    85w
    I am more of an multi lnb guy and multi dish. Not a fan of motors.
     
    madmadworld and SkySurfer80 like this.
  3. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    3,764
    Location:
    Montana
    One of the things you need to watch for when deciding on a motor and dish combo is the fit. Is the shaft on the 6100 the right size for the dish you want? Another question is, though the motor can handle the weight of a larger dish can it handle the wind force? I have had a lot of Ku motors and never been satisfied with their performance. For the 1.2m and larger dishes a polar mount is the way to go. But hard to find in the US. I converted a C-Band dish mount for a 1.2 Ku dish. I'm real happy with that :)
    ? offset angle Primestar 1.2m
     
  4. SkySurfer80

    SkySurfer80 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Tennessee

    Yeah but my wife would kill me if we had a dish farm! Lol.
     
    raydio and madmadworld like this.
  5. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    7,429
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    No wife = happy life :D
     
    N5XZS, madmadworld and danristheman like this.
  6. SkySurfer80

    SkySurfer80 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Tennessee


    Yeah true. I just read that the 39x36 really gets no more than the 36 accross anyways since the 39" is top to bottom. So if the 39x36 cant receive more signal no need to add the weight. Of course i would love a 1.2 meter, but with crazy high shipping plus another more expensive motor maybe a 36" will do for now. I wish I could find a guide that shows the signal comparisons from a 76cm and a 90cm and then that 39x36 dish I mentioned. I mean I just want to be able to pull in the majority of feeds. That geosat lnb I have seems to be perfect.
     
  7. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    7,429
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
  8. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,154
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Boonies
    I have an HH120 Stab motor that handles a 1m dish quite well. When I first got the motor I put a 1.2m dish on it and was big trouble, main bearing in the motor kept loosening/wearing, and eventually wind actually broke the motor housing (broke one of the mount "ears" off). I got the housing repaired and found a stamped steel 1m dish that has been working fine for several years now. Almost half the weight of the 1.2m. Use it often.
    Also have a 90cm dish on an SG2100 (old one) that works great too.
    Not familiar with that particular motor (sg6100), bet it isn't much different from the 2100, maybe geared lower for the extra torque required for a heavier dish. Unless the bearings and housing are much beefier I personally wouldn't want anything bigger than a 1m on any of the diseqc motors I have seen so far. Anything bigger "
    ".

     
  9. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    maritimes
    The 39 x 36 dish is a true 36 inch dish. Marketing crap if somone says different. My one metre wineguard is 43 x 40.
    I did some comparisons years ago on 97 west using my favorite satellite receiver meter. It doesn't read extremely high or low. There was only a 10 point difference I recall on Smile of a Child. This was between a 75cm and a one metre.

    Hope this helps, Catamount
     
    Larry1 likes this.
  10. SkySurfer80

    SkySurfer80 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thanks for all the info. Guess the ole 36" will have to work. I am guessing being locked in the arc with a 35l6" and my geosat lnb should get most feeds.
     
  11. Larry1

    Larry1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Port Hope, ON Canada
    True as the dish is an offset dish, so the effective size is 36 x 36
    If you look at the dish from where the LNBF mounts, you will see that the top to bottom size of the dish shrinks as you move away the Centre of the dish to the offset angle. Some manufactures will list effective size (aperture) or the gain, other only list the top to bottom size to try to oversell the dish size. After all, you will only receive what the LNBF (or satellite) sees, not more because the dish is really bigger but at an angle to the signal.
    I have always felt the same as Catamount, Marketing crap.
     
    catamount likes this.
  12. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    1,057
    Location:
    85w
    Give your wife a spa day when she is gone put up another dish advice started by Primestar 31. Get out of jail free card.
     
  13. madmadworld

    madmadworld Official TV Watcher

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    13,272
    Likes Received:
    3,397
    Location:
    up on the roof in SinCity
    That motor is not the best it will die. then you will want a Stab. so buy the 1 meter now.
    you will never be sorry about have a larger dish.
     
    MikeI and comfortably_numb like this.
  14. MikeI

    MikeI SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Posts:
    3,135
    Likes Received:
    185
    Yep. Completely agree. Minimum of a Meter dish is needed for 16apsk feeds too.

    Sent from my VS995 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...