Add 5th Dish Receiver

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

minamman

Original poster
Nov 2, 2005
I'm pretty new to all of this, so please bear with me. I currently have two dual tuner receivers that feed 4 TV's. Two TV's in upstairs, one in Family room and one in basement. Now, I'm trying to add 5th TV in basement(two TV's in basement now). I called Dish and they told me I have to purchase it. So, instead of paying $299 for Solo 311, I bought it from ebay paying half the price.

Being ignorant in this area, I thought I could just simply hook up a receiver and it will work. I guess that's not how it works in Dish. I researched all the forums and find out that I have to run a new wire from Dish to new receiver. I don't do roof and don't want to wire another cable from the roof to basement. Is there any way I can use existing wire to activate this receiver? I have a ViP622 in family room that feed one TV in family room and one in basement. Can I use this line that goes to basement with new receiver? My dish in roof is unreachable and not advisable to go up there at this time of the year... Thanks.

$299 for a solo 311? They retail for only $99! You can get them on ebay for about $50-60.

Make sure you keep your phone lines hooked up or the audit nazi's will get ya! Then all that money you put out for that receiver will be GONE! They will shut it off permanently making it a door stop.

You must run a cable from the dish to the receiver, there's no other way or you don't get satellite signal. You could setup the receiver closer to the dish and run the output cable (RG6) from the receiver to the basement.