Another 622 failure!

shodobe

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 8, 2003
NorCal
Can you believe it! I just got another 622 replacement just this week and activated it on Thursday. It would even turn on this morning. No lighrts, no HD running, cold as ice. I called Dish to request another replacment but I wanted a 722 instead. I have had so much trouble over the past 6 months with 622s, this will be my 6th! They said no and I would have to buy it. I said no I have been with Dish for 11 years and really don't complain about much. This, however is beginning to irritate me. My wife keeps losing programs she records. I told them if they sent me another 622 and it failed I was just going to cancel them and go over to the dark side. Really frustrating.

Yeah, this sure seems like you have some sort of electrical problem, because the odds against you receiving 6 defective units are astronomically high. Years ago, I used to work as a tech support agent for a large computer company. We would run into these customers that had consistent hardware failures. Eventually, we'd stop sending replacement parts. You know what they say about doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results...

I don't think a 722 would make any difference, either. Could you try a different outlet? What about a good quality surge suppressor or even a UPS? How well grounded is your dish?