Anyone FTA in Cincinnati area?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Blindowl1234

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 16, 2008
SouthWest Ohio
Just curious are there any fellow FTA folks in my area? I'm new at this and have two dishes stationary now. One at 101W and the other 123W. The 101W is an old 36"P...Star. The other is a 30" Wineg...
I have a motor that I've fought with putting on the 30" dish. I simply can't get it lined up correctly. I'm hoping to find a fellow FTA'er that can help me for an hour or so. Like most of us I can't afford to pay a couple hundred bucks for a D..network installer to hookup FTA. I just want to get this thing done, so my wife doesn't think I've wasted money. Thanks! Blind:)

Don't waste your $$ on a DN installer, you'll be lucky if he even knows what FTA is.

Get a cheapie inclinometer, set your dish inclination, and take your time. You may have to fab something to get it mounted, but once it's mounted and you can twist it on the post, you just have to fool with it until it works. A buddy in the house with a cell phone may be easier than dragging a reciever and TV outdoors in winter. Take and post some pix, lots of help available here. Don't give up.

Thanks! 4 the support

Well I'm thinking the motor is a SG2100? I'm doing that from memory...scary thought. It's an H-H motor. My issue is one lining it up on the arc...scanning and locking in something and then scanning and locking them all in. I tried using Usals today after I loaded in my Long/Lat etc...ran out of time. Holding the manual button in on the motor I can turn the motor east to west. Using the receiver and remote I can tell it to maually move using the button that says east-west. :confused:Someone who was good at this could finish it in 15 minutes probably. Oh well 68 outside today...lucky to hit 40 tomorrow. I'll mess with it maybe New Years Day. ThankS! Blind

Motor Latitude scale is set to Your Lat, do not use the Motor Elevation scale.