Anyone with a Topfield PVR?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

moonman88

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 12, 2006
Hi.
I'm new to the FTA arena. I have been doing a lot of reading the past week. I decided on getting a receiver with PVR in it. I saw Iceberg's good review of the PanSat 6000 so I started doing more research on PVRs. I came across the Topfield PVR (5000 Line) with 160GB HD! It's about $50 cheaper than the PanSat 6000 with a bigger HD. Also it seems that it's very popular overseas because of their great support and their unique TAP feature (you can create custom software for it). My question is why is it barely mentioned in these forums? Seems like it's only sold in the UK and Australia. Most of the the dealers there don't seem to ship overseas (even online dealers). Where can I pick one up in the USA?

My question is why is it barely mentioned in these forums? Seems like it's only sold in the UK and Australia.
you answered your own question. If its only sold in the UK & Australia and most of us are in N. America you can draw your own conclusions :)

Iceberg said:
you answered your own question. If its only sold in the UK & Australia and most of us are in N. America you can draw your own conclusions :)
True.. :)
Anyone knows if it would work with FTA here if I could lay my hands on one?

If you can get the voltage power supply problem corrected ( Different in UK) then the DVB standard is worldwide!

The 4000 is 150 bucks cheaper than the Pansat 6000, has an 80gb drive and 2 tuners.

Haven't figured out how it scans yet.

As for the power, adapters are overrated. Cut the end off and put on a US one. Cost 99 cents and 3 minutes. (well assuming the PS can handle it which is all the cheap adapters do anyway.)

Last edited:
ebay my good man, ebay...

And they have some game emulation or something,... apparently you can play over 5000 games on it.

I was kinda joking abot Tetris on the NA the other day but 5000 games is serious.