authorized by the boss - but is it worth it?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mastermesh

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 18, 2006
My wife has given me the ok to buy a motor and dish if I need to to pick up fta... however, I'm really new to all of this am not sure if it's worth it right now. Just bought a Pansat 3500sd not long ago. I was trying to aim the little 18" dtv dish to get signals. I had 110 degrees earlier, but all that was on was worth watching was goltv, OLN, and a couple of radio stations. I have not yet been able to pick up any other sattelites with fta channels yet. I tried re-aiming the thing to get either 119 or 91 and am having trouble... It gets frustrating re-aiming by hand... I got a free Primestar dish the other day, but it's not been picking up anything at all yet - mainly probably because I'm directly across the street from a brick apartment house and there's quite a few trees around us. If I put the Primestar on the roof, I may get more stuff (we are on a hill, uphill from the apartment... apartment is only 2 stories. Our house is 1.5 stories (might as well say two stories. The upper room is tall enough to be a full story, but it's angled in the sides due to the slope of the roof). My wife really don't want the dish on the roof... She is ok with it on the front porch like the little 18 inch is now. Would it be worth it to buy a winegard dish (30 or more inches) + an SG2100 motor. I have read that you can put the sg2100 on the primestar, but that you have to do some welding to do so and/or risk damaging the motor with that heavy Primestar dish. I'd hate to buy a motor only to kill it with the weight of the PS... if the winegard is lighter and actually is the size meant to fit the motor, it'll probably be ok to do so, but is it worth it since I have no idea if I can even pick up fta sattelites besides the few fta channels floating around on the sattelites that the 18" can see? (I ordered a new lnb for the primestar... hopefully it