bcs621 feedhorn alignment

Status
Please reply by conversation.

gabshere

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 20, 2006
Rison , Arkansas
Well i figured i would start a thread and just link it to Linuxman's .
we were adjusting the feedhorns I have a bsc621 ( actually i have two)

i first took readings with my Coolsat 5000 and then used my Traxis 3500
my polarity mark was pointing to 12:00 ( but was at 6:00)
i did adjust it to 8:00 and lost signal and moved it to 7:00 then to 4:00 then to 5:30 and reset it back to the original 6:00 . Now the main problem i actually think i'm having is the feedhorn has a lot of room to move in the scaler and it hard to get it level or straight in the scaler and the metal feedhorn is very easy to indent with the lockdown bolt.

......................................Coolsat 5K...Traxis ( before) Traxis (after)Coolsat 5K
G27 - 129W 11964 H Ku.....69% SQ........68% SQ........63% SQ........ no signal
G10 - 123W 11720 V Ku.....91% SQ........73% SQ........73%SQ.........88%SQ
G10 - 123W 3841...............94%SQ.........80%SQ..........80%SQ........94%SQ
G11 - 91W 3721 H C-Band 91% SQ.......78% SQ.........80%SQ.......94%SQ
G11 - 91W 12059 V Ku no signal.......no signal.......17%SQ no channel 63%SQ
AMC3 - 87W 12144 H Ku no signal........no signal........17%SQno channel 63%SQ
AMC2/16 - 85W 12195 H Ku 63%SQ........17%SQ no channel 23%SQno channel 66%SQ
G17 - 74W 11734 H Ku.........90% SQ........72% SQ........80%SQ.......94%SQ
AMC6 - 72W 12053 V Ku.......69% SQ........65-67% SQ.....67%SQ.......69%SQ
AMC6 - 72W 4040 V C-Band..87-90% SQ....71% SQ........72%SQ.......90-91%SQ

i still need a better method to check to see if its correctly seated into the scaler ( i suspect it wouldn't take a whole lot to be off and every little bit is throwing me off. i will try again to gain some center area of the arc I did lose ground in the center of my arc spirit TV on 87W was at 87 on the coolsat and now is at 70