Building dedicated home theater system

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lone Cloud

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 23, 2008
Well I've never done it before, but I'm building one. Got a case that's not a tower that will fit in my rack. Cool look. Aluminum, display, volume knob

The motherboard is one that has all kinds of outputs like HDMI and DVI. Advertised that it will work with and amplify graphic card output. 1080p claims on box.

Got AMD Phenom II chip, 4 mb RAM ( both installed without problems) and need only reader/writer and hard disk. Have maybe 60 % of the wires connected. After I get the storage and writer in, then I'll install the ATI 4670 card and my TT 3200 S-2 card

Since I am completely new at this, I have put batteries in my smoke detectors and have gotten a brand new fire extinguisher and kept it within reach at all times.

It's a maze of wires, that's for sure. It'll hopefully be a good dedicated home theater computer system when it's done. I didn't go completely top of the line on the chip or the RAM because I am figuring it won't have any of the standard programs usually found in off the rack pcs.

If it works, and I don't burn my house down, I think it'll last a good long while,
and i think i'll be able to upgrade the chip and the RAM to extend its liife

I hope it works well with my Sony vw60 projector system. As long as there's no flame and smoke involved

No visuals?
Curious to know where you picked it up since I'm about to splurge on a MB & CPU that is similar.
Also, I'm sure you meant 4GB RAM and not 4mb... :)

well, I installed the 1 tb hard drive and dvd writer. turned it on and voila! nothing but blank screen and weird noises coming from it

got it at Fry's. you are right about the ram = showing my age

The top is open and the disconnect of the SATA cables is easy. I'll try booting it without the drives later tonight.