Button hook dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mjac

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 27, 2008
FL/TN
In my seemingly never ending search for a larger BUD ( I have a 7.5 Odom and a 7.5 CM), I have stumbled upon a 12' button hook mesh. I do not know the name and presently do not have any pictures. All the parts and pieces are there and it is currently mounted fairly near my home. As far as I know it was working before it was taken out of service.
Disassembly, transporting and re-erecting is not a problem but I am wondering if a novice like myself could handle (aim/adjust) the botton hook. This is an area in which I have no experience.
Any suggestions? Thanks.

Ps. I really want a 10' with support arms.

I have a 10ft. dish with button hook and the first thing I did was add guy wires to it. This Is my first and last button hook dish, I prefer the 4 lnb support arms myself. For me it makes it easier to line up the lnbf skew when you can look throw the middle of the dish. Other than that you should have know problem getting a signal, for me the fine tuning of ku is a lot harder than, my 7.5 perfect 10. Some of my problem with ku my be the mesh hole size (1/4in.),it's double what the perfect 10 was.

PS. Some member here have add support arms made from conduit with good results. Hope this helps, I say good luck and go for it.

At the back of the dish, it likely that you'll see where the rod comes out and is secured to the center of the dish with a simple "U" bolt.

Mark the rod for depth, and direction AT THAT POINT. This will be important when you get it home and start re-assembling the dish.

Since it's close to home, you shouldn't need to do any major replanting of the button hook. I had one on my very first 10'er back in the 80's and never had any major problems.

Good luck and keep us informed on your progress.

Photto