Choice of coax cable?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by comfortably_numb, Apr 15, 2018 at 10:32 PM.

  1. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Is it important to purchase coax that has a solid copper core? There are so many different types, even among professional, burial and aerial grade coaxial cable.
     
    MosFET77 likes this.
  2. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    5,771
    Likes Received:
    2,475
    Location:
    Montana
    Many factors go into choosing coax for a job. The length and environmental conditions. The expected signal load. The trick is to identify your needs correctly so you don't need to overspend for higher quality that brings no benefit. So without best info to work with we use the old' Better safe than sorry" and go for the best :)
     
  3. Alexander Olar

    Alexander Olar SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    254
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Macomb Michigan
    If your planning to motorize your dish I'd get better quality coaxial cable. Also, make sure to use compression connectors for durability.

    I don't mean to hijack your thread, but what TP do you use to allign to 87w?

    Sent from my C6743 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    The strongest TP on 87 for me is 11960 H 29270 (the CNN mux)
     
    N5XZS and Alexander Olar like this.
  5. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    705
    Location:
    85w
    Try Hypermegasat that's where I bought my wire and connectors he has nice RG6 wire works well for I need it for.
     
  6. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,144
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Solid versus CCS comes down entirely to how much the current draw is on the dish end of the cable. I doubt that it is all that important in the FTA world as the LNBs tend to be pretty efficient. It is when you have a bunch of switchgear hanging out there (especially with DIRECTV or perhaps satellite Internet) that higher ampacity comes into play. CCS conducts signal just as well as SCC but steel (3-15% of the conductivity of copper) isn't nearly as good for ampacity when it comes to conducting DC power to run switchgear.
     
    Brct203 likes this.
  7. a33

    a33 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    netherlands europe
    Resistance difference is noticeable in the short term.

    In the long run there are other disadvantages of CCS Cable. See the second half of this post, for instance: Koaxialkabel (Kupfer oder Stahlkupfer)
    It's in german language, however.. :)

    For a long term use cable, I would only buy solid copper cable (core and sheath).

    Greetz,
    A33
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  8. zack

    zack SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    texas
    How often do you want to have to trim back 2 or 3 inches on the ends when the center core rusts?

    Buy solid copper, seal it well, and be done with it!
     
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Yep. I bought 50 feet of dual solid copper core coax to feed my 90cm dish feeds, and then tonight ordered 75ft of solid copper single coax to feed the 75cm dish on the roof. I figure it’s best to do it right the first time and save myself the headaches later.
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  10. zack

    zack SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    texas
    Now I just need to follow my own advice!
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  11. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,144
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Unless you're using the cable to power something significant at the dish end, resistance is of little consequence and doesn't materially impact the signal transmission properties of the cable. Anyone who wishes to understand why (and maybe even if you don't) should read this Wikipedia article:

    Skin effect - Wikipedia

    Oxidization is an issue with most common metals and there are treatments that help with that (over and above making water-tight terminations). Some use special tape to cover the connection while others prefer dielectric grease. The truly fastidious (or those in mission critical applications) may use both.

    If you do your cabling correctly, it simply comes down to the anticipated DC load on the cable.
     
  12. IntelPennny4

    IntelPennny4 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    USA
    i use only commscope cable if that maters to anyone :)
     
    Cham likes this.
  13. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    As of yesterday, I'm using two dishes. The first dish has a switch at its location. The second dish is 75 feet from the first dish and switch. It's 50 feet from the switch to point of entry into the building. That makes 125 feet total from the second dish to point of entry. And since the LNBF's and the switch both require power, I decided to invest in solid copper coax to help cut down on loss.
     
  14. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    532
    Location:
    Boonies
    Commscope/Belden I think is the same company, but there are different types of RG6 they sell so make sure you obtain what you require; solid CU versus copperweld center, etc. Very rare to have problems with their feedlines whatever the type.
     
  15. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I've been buying PerfectVision coax from Phat Satellite out of California.
     
  16. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,144
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    This is comparable to pretty much any "legacy" pizza dish setup. When I refer to complex switchgear I'm talking about the likes of SWM where the power consumption of the LNB can be relatively high. In the case of the DIRECTV PI21, it is rated for 25 watts. The old-school DIRECTV switchgear was less than 10 watts. The DISH DPH-42 maxes at 365mA.
     
  17. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,280
    Likes Received:
    4,427
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Legacy systems with more than 2 LNBFs typically had a powered switch and the STBs were current rated higher than FTA STBs.

    A motor and two LNBFs typically exceed the maximum current rating of any FTA STB. Running a motor and or switches and multiple LNBs at the end of a long run at 13Vdc and typical 300-450mA is an apples to orange comparison to a SWM power inserted running 21Vdc at 1.5A.

    Another consideration is the shielding for reliable DiSEqC signaling. I only use solid copper core quad shield.
     
  18. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Is 125 feet from dish to block using solid copper coax too much of a run?
     
    #18 comfortably_numb, Apr 17, 2018 at 2:30 PM
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018 at 4:33 PM
  19. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,280
    Likes Received:
    4,427
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Not the rating of the coax, but rather the STB current rating. Depends what the current requirements are for the components.
     
  20. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    To be more specific, in my scenario, I’m running an Amiko 8x1 switch at the dish, and the Amiko HD.265
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...