Combining FTA and Dishnetwork systems

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Nightnavigator62

Original poster
Nov 3, 2009
Nor Cal
I believe I have read a few replies in various other threads, but I am a newbie and want to make sure I understand it correctly.
I have a Dishnetwork system, but would like to add an additional dish for getting a FTA signal (Ku-band). The dishnetwork dishes/system cannot decode this FTA signal.
My question is if I can use a splitter or diplexer (or any other device) to connect the FTA signal onto the Coaxial cable getting into the house and then a splitter or diplexer (or any other device) to re-split the signal in the living room to the dishnetwork box and the FTA system box.
In other words, will it be possible to get both signals through the same cable, that way avoiding me to pull an additional cable through the house for the FTA "system"?
I think I have read somewhere that the frequencies will be the same and therefore will interfere with eachother, as opposed to the combination of a regular antenna (OTA) and the dishnetwork signal. Yet I want to make sure I, before I start pulling extra cables....
Any assistance will be great.
(I also posted this in the Dishnetwork section, but was suggested to also post it in the FTA section)

Because both Dish Network (or Direct TV) use the same frequencies (LO or local Oscillator) to send the signals down the coax as FTA (Free to Air) - they can not share same coax cable. You are correct about OTA (Over the Air) signals being combinable.
Bob

BTW Welcome to Sat Guys!!

Last edited:
In addition to them not being compatible, something even worse, is when people try to hook their FTA dishes into houses which previously had cable.
Often, there are splitters buried in the walls, wrong type cable, and other problems.
So, best thing to do with a new install, is to take responsibility for it from end-to-end.