Conflicting information

JimP

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 8, 2004
Wetumpka, AL
I have a 1000.2 installation in zip code 36093.

Double checking some information, I see that on the "point dish" screen, when my zip code is entered for a dish system 500, I get Azimuth of 226, Elevation of 42 and Skew of 127. However, when I check the pdf for my zip code, it show Azmuth of 231, Elevation of 38 and skew of 130. My main curiosity is about the skew angle. Does 3 degrees make any difference?

Maybe I'm using the wrong dish system in the point dish setup. The 500 was the only one that had 110 and 129. Am I suppose to be using another?

The settings for a dish 1000.2 will be slightly different than a dish 500. As you found, there is no specs for a 1000.2 on the receiver. I would use your first numbers.

Any signal at all if you are lucky with that p.o.s. satellite. By early next year the replacement sat will be in place and the 129 problems will be gone.

I'm still learning this stuff so please excuse the elementary question.

Basically, doesn't a higher signal strength give you more headroom from rainfade?

Yes it does.

It CAN also affect your picture quality despite what others will say.

High definition signal readings are less for the HD programs, NOT only because of poor pointing skills, but ANY HD signal meter reading will be less than that of a non-HD feed of the SAME STRENGTH signal. The reason is that amount of digital information per second that is required to produce a correct HDTV picture is approximately 5 times as much as is needed for an SDTV picture. Because the signal meters are not truly just an indicator of strength, but more an indicator of signal quality, all HD signal readings will be lower. And, if there are slow data rates (which ARE affected by signal strength) you may see a blurry picture or a picture much more like Enhanced Definition (EDTV) instead of HDTV.

Yes it does.