Destacker question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

gldfinger4

Original poster
Nov 3, 2007
I have some some questions. Please keep in mind that I am pretty new to this. I currently rent a duplex and had a dish installed. downstairs i have the r15 receiver. Since I rent, I couldn't have another line installed. I purchased the sonora d575d dstacker, since i thought that was all I would need. I have the single line running into the receiver. I thought all i had to do was run that line into the d575d, and then run the two cables into each tuner. However, I do not get a picture. Am I missing something? Do I need another part for this to work? Any info or suggestions would be great.

You need to have the stacker connected to the two outputs of the dish before it enters the duplex. Then it should work fine.

Dang it! Too slow again.

I just took a look outside. there is a 3x4 switch with connections in 4 of the 6, the middle one on each side is free. two lines coming from the dish to the switch. im guessing that one set goes to the family room and the other goes to the bedroom. where does the stacker i need to purchase come in?

Ok, i purchased the stacker i needed. i connected two lines from the switch to the stacker, then the line to the house from the stacker. Inside i have the destacker connected to the line coming from the wall, and then to the two inputs on the back of the receiver. I have all the channels (which I didnt when i had just the destacker). But, i still can not record one channel and watch another at the same time. It tells me that it has to cancel recording it or switch to that channel (same thing i would get without the stacker and destacker). So what am i still doing wrong? Also, i got an hrfpi power inserter? with the stacker. Do i need to do anything with that? And if so where does it go? Im soooo close.....

In order to externally destack for two tuner inputs, you also need a multiswitch and a high-frequency splitter.