Directv T15 moving to provide KU at 100.85W

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by nelson61, Aug 18, 2018.

  1. nelson61

    nelson61 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,697
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
  2. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,492
    Likes Received:
    7,840
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Sounds like they want to test ka usability at 101°.
     
  3. nelson61

    nelson61 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,697
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    No, they specify it is a temporary business need for KU transmissions

    Sent from my SM-G955U1 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  4. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,492
    Likes Received:
    7,840
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    I saw that, but does it exclude additional types of testing?
     
  5. nelson61

    nelson61 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,697
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    The 101 license is only DBS (KU).

    Sent from my SM-G955U1 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  6. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,492
    Likes Received:
    7,840
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Does that mean they can't test others?
     
  7. nelson61

    nelson61 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,697
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    Yes.

    The narrative talks of moving Directv 8 stream to D15.
    And, the footnotes indicate they plan to move T15 back to 103W sometime in 2019.
     
  8. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    338
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    IA
    I think what it means is 1) they expect T16 to launch sometime next year (since they currently expect to move T15 back sometime in 2019) and 2) it is to allow them to retire D5, which means they need a satellite at 101 able to reach Puerto Rico so they can still get guide data etc. once D5 has left 110 for the satellite retirement village that awaits it in parking orbit.

    They probably originally planned to have T16 in place before D5 needed to retire, but it always takes longer to build and launch a satellite than planned...
     
  9. Inclined Orbit

    Inclined Orbit SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    DirecTV has been licensed for Ka at 101 for years and an existing satellite at 101 had limited Ka capability for testing.


     
  10. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    338
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    IA
    The narrative says nothing about Ka testing, and is in fact pretty specific that this move is all about Ku. Besides that doesn't even make sense, yes they are licensed for Ka from 101 but in order to use it they'd need a satellite permanently located at 101 with full CONUS Ka capability instead of a couple of test spotbeams like D11 & D12 have. If T16 has Ka capability they would test it when it launches to 101 next year. If it doesn't, testing Ka from 101 would be pretty pointless, like car shopping right before you go to prison for 20 years.
     
  11. nelson61

    nelson61 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,697
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    And what license is that? None that I am aware of other than uplinks and control.
     
  12. CSM

    CSM SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    640
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    Why do KA at the 101 when KA is more susceptible to rain fade? Then there wouldn't be any point in doing MPEG 4 SD duplicates using the KA band right? If KA is going to be at the 101 wouldn't that also confirm no MPEG 4 SD duplicates?
     
  13. Inclined Orbit

    Inclined Orbit SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My memory is fuzzy but I remember something about DirecTV licensing Ka at 101 to preclude a competitor from parking there. I also think DirecTV would never broadcast Ka from 101 because it would be a nightmare making an LNBF with a dual Ku/Ka feed for the same slot. I believe the reflector would have to be larger to make up for the losses.

     
  14. jcrandall

    jcrandall Proud Staff Member
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    10,705
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    This one sounds pretty logical as everything about this move says temporary business need.
     
  15. Inclined Orbit

    Inclined Orbit SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    When Puerto Rico switched from DTV Latin America on G3C to the US system it created some satellite logistics problems and this temporary move makes sense if its to support Puerto Rico.

     
  16. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,098
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Why would the reflector need to be larger?

    Slimline dishes are focused on 101 anyways, and KU at 101 only requires an 18 Dish.

    If anything having a KA signal right in the center of the dish should be stronger than the 99 and 103 signals.

    Other than that, this sounds like they just need permission to move around satellites and this move would be so they can take traffic off another satellite so they can move an existing satellite.
     
  17. Inclined Orbit

    Inclined Orbit SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The existing Slimline obviously has a feed for 101 Ku but making that feed a dual band Ku/Ka would be complicated and the end result would probably loose efficiency on both bands, so to meet current specs I feel the reflector would have to grow to make up for the feed losses.The first DirecTV Ka/Ku dish with an integrated 99Ka/101Ku/103Ka feed was a heck of an engineering challenge for the companies participating in the design.

    The Slimline reflector size was at the maximum size that DTV executives would allow when it was designed, so going bigger is not an option. The Slimline also barely meets some specs like 2deg adjacent Ka spacing and adding Ka at 101 might dip below acceptable performance between 99/101Ka and 101/103Ka.


     
  18. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    907
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    The current T8 and T9S satellites at 101W actually have Ka band payloads which DIRECTV uses (or perhaps "used" in the past) for internal signal backhauling purposes.

    The problem is the payloads appear to have been designed to support an earlier plan for DIRECTV's satellite ground infrastructure, which has long since been abandoned.

    For instance T8's Ka payload has uplink spotbeams for regional "aggregation" sites for local channel backhauling in Seattle, NY, Atlanta, and their broadcast center at Castle Rock, CO. ("CRBC"). And has downlink spotbeams to the broadcast center in LA ("LABC") and to Kansas City, MO.

    But of course there's no DIRECTV satellite facility in Kansas City.

    And T9S's receives on uplink spotbeams to the LABC and Boise, ID., and then downlinks on spotbeams to two of DIRECTV's regional uplink facilities in Oakdale, MN. ("MWUF") and their SW uplink facility near Tucson, AZ. ("SWUF").

    But of course there is no DIRECTV uplink site in Bosie, ID. And it's rather pointless to downlink to just those two regional uplink facilities today when twice as many just as important exist. Not to mention all their associated diversity sites.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  19. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,098
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Yeah uplink frequencies would make sense. They could even utilize reverse band
     
    nelson61 likes this.
  20. nelson61

    nelson61 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,697
    Likes Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    For those that like this stuff.

    The FCC maintains an indexed (excel file) list of the approved space stations indexed by location with links to the permits as extracted from the IBFS system. As they point out, the IBFS system is the master source and will have current day by day updates.

    Click "The List" to download the file.

    Approved Space Station List
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...