DISEqC doesn't work

Status
Please reply by conversation.

sid101

Original poster
Jan 15, 2013
Miami
Hi,

I am relatively new to the field of satellite. Started a job 6 months ago at a company which sells satellite equipment and has a small teleport.

I am trying to use DiSEqC and having problems. Trying to figure out what i could be doing wrong.

I have a DMS International 4 in 1 DISEqC switch version 2.0. I am trying to receive 2 C-band satellite signals, one from SES-2 and one from NSS 806 in one IRD using this DISEqC switch.

On the DiSEqC switch Input 1 is connected to a SES-2 3737 Vertical tp 2, Input 2 is connected to NSS 806 3875L tp 23A.

Input 1 is coming from a 12 port active L Band splitter. Input 2 is coming from tuner out of another IRD locked to NSS 806 3875L.

The IRD supports DISEqC version 1.0 and it gives an option to choose 4 DISEqC ports. I lock on to SES-2 signal irrespective of what DISEqC port i choose on the IRD (A, B, C and D).

But i am unable to receive the NSS 806 signal which is on input 2 of the the DISEqC switch.

My question is am i doing something wrong or do i need to do something additional for DISEqC to work?

Does it matter that DISEqC switch is not connected directly to the LNB, but to a splitter and another IRD?

There is an option for LNB 22 KHz. Should this be ON or OFF?

I believe LNB voltage should be 'ON' on the IRD for DISEqC to work. I have tried 13V, 18V and OFF and got the same result.

I will appreciate any input or suggestions.

Thank you all for your patience

Sid

Sid,

Welcome to the SatelliteGuys forum!

Sounds like the DiSEqC switch is defective. All other information aside, if the DiSEqC 1.0 setting is set with the IRD to any other port than 1 (A) and the receiver continues to receive the satellite connected to port 1 (A), the switch is not changing to any other port.

The other set-up settings should make no difference.