Dish elevation angle (again?)

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

andrew_h

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 25, 2011
Illinois
Hello everyone, I’m new to FTA (and this forum).

I just received the delivery of WS9036 and the 9120 motor. I haven’t actually started the actual installation, but have started mock-assembling the pieces together. There’s one thing that still confuses me: how exactly do I set the dish declination angle? I mean, based on my latitude, I figured out my dish declination angle to be roughly 6.5 deg, so my dish elevation, with that motor, is (40 - 6.5) = 33.5 degrees – now, the problem is the angle scales/notches on the dish bracket don’t have any markings/numbers - how do I know what position corresponds 33.5 deg elevation? (what’s the range, from leftmost to rightmost notch)

I’m looking forward to putting these things together this weekend, would appreciate any pointers here. I’m sure this has been discussed before, my apologies - I’ve searched all over and none the discussions talk not about the physical elevation setup I’m looking for… or maybe I’m missing something here.

From my experience over the past 20 years or so, I have found that it is not really necessary to know the exact elevation setting, and the setting on the small dishes that I have had experience with are at best an approximation.