Dish off in storm, permanently?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by MikeMoss, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. MikeMoss

    MikeMoss Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ada, MI
    Hi

    We just had a thunderstorm this evening. During the storm, the dish box went dead.
    I can hear the disk drive running but there is no light on the front, not Green, or Yellow but power is going in.

    I tried pushing the buttons for start and reset.

    I unplugged it waited and plugged it back in.

    The TV says no signal.

    I called the Dish Guy in some country or other and after explaining the nonexistent light, is not blinking several times he said that he could send me a new unit, I said that I wanted a technician (I'm going on 82 and it's hard work on down there) and after quite a wait he said that he would send someone on the 22nd of September.

    I couldn't budge him even by telling him I already have Comcast in the house for my computer and that I could switch.

    So I decided to ask if anyone here has any ideas of anything else I could try. That's a long time without TV, I can't even watch all the stuff I have recorded.

    The truth is that I'm pretty sure that we were hit by lightning it wouldn't be the first time but my computer and stuff is OK.

    The last time is melted the dish. LOL

    Any ideas appreciated

    Mike.
     
  2. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,615
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Your Tv is on the wrong input.

    There is no error message by Dish that says “No Signal”

    You could likely get Comcast out in 3-5 days if you wanted to get cable through them
     
  3. Ziptied

    Ziptied SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    West coast
    Not necessarily. If the receiver is not outputting any signal, that is the exact message that his TV would display.
     
  4. MikeMoss

    MikeMoss Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ada, MI
    Hi

    He's right the message is from the TV set not the Dish Box.
    I can still get some TV through Smart TV over the internet. But not our regular programs.

    I've been with Dish, for many years even before Comcast was available around here.
    You would think they would try harder.

    Comcast usually shows up the next day when I need service from them, and they don't charge me.
    But I like Dish better than Comcast for TV but you can't beat the internet service though.

    Mike
     
  5. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    8,863
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Just call back, ask for loyalty or a manager and explain you're 82 yr old and you are NOT going to do your install and to send a tech. As a side note, you don't want to know how many "boxes sent in the mail" I've replaced because they were damaged. Just yesterday, a Hopper Duo that sounded like so many parts had come loose inside it, someone must have been playing Hockey with it. You could always add in that your dish was melted in the strike lol
     
  6. osumike

    osumike SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    862
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    On a roof in Wisconsin
    I know that waiting 12 days for a tech is SOP around here lately. We're so overbooked and understaffed, customers are suffering. Add in we have "techs" here just slapping jobs in, which means I have to go reinstall them, so that doesn't help trying to catch up.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  7. osumike

    osumike SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    862
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    On a roof in Wisconsin
    To the OP, if your receiver doesn't have any lights on it, and you can just hear the fan running, it's safe to say it took a hit and needs replaced. In the meantime, I'd try a Blu-ray player or some other HDMI source to verify your tv's HDMI board didn't get fried also.. And if it did, ask the dish tech about getting you signed up for dish protect platinum. That'll get your tv either repaired or replaced, along with any other consumer electronic device that may be broken in your home, for a $50 deductible. Good luck.
     
    TheKrell and HipKat like this.
  8. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    8,863
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Same here. This late in the year, being booked out almost 2 weeks still is unheard of. (I hope Claude is paying attention lol).
     
    osumike likes this.
  9. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,549
    Likes Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    If you have a Roku, Fire tv or other streaming device, you could try out some of the various streaming tv options with free trials until the receiver is replaced. Many of the networks you could stream also using your Dish login credentials.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  10. Jon J

    Jon J SatelliteGuys Pro Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    393
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Music City, USA
    I am surprised one of the DISH Support people hasn't posted in this thread. They have been very attentive recently and could probably help with this problem.
     
  11. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,782
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    They can make promises but the fact is, as has been noted already, you can't get blood from a stone. The techs are booked that far out.
     
    HipKat likes this.
  12. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,549
    Likes Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    This is where Dish would benefit by somewhat pleasing a customer and offering a free extended trial to Sling tv until the equipment can be replaced. That’s assuming the customer has high speed internet access.
     
    dishdude, peggy97850, Tampa8 and 2 others like this.
  13. MikeMoss

    MikeMoss Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ada, MI
    Hi

    I did call back and finally got them to say they would contact me within 24 hours and try to get there sooner, but that was the best I could do.
    So I'm still really waiting to see when they are going to come. I did find out that I've been a customer for over 16 years.

    The TV does work I can get online stuff on it but not My Dish for some reason that's not working on the TV, my computer or my Tablet. I wanted to watch the debate tonight so I'm trying to find a free source online.

    Is there a My Dish app for PCs?

    I can't seem to find one.

    I'm going to start on my smart TV next and see if I can get to the debate on it somehow.

    Mike

    PS, as long as I am here I decided to update my picture.
     
  14. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    22,985
    Likes Received:
    4,786
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    If you have a roku...you can use your dish credentials for stuff like history channel,abc,cbs,fox and many other apps assuming they are in your package...that might help for a while

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  15. MikeMoss

    MikeMoss Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ada, MI
    No Roku but I'll keep looking. I think I may have found a spot to watch at Cord Cutters.
     
  16. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,405
    Likes Received:
    9,060
    Location:
    USA
  17. JerryDowning

    JerryDowning SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Posts:
    769
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    I think that Hurricane Dorian may have some influence here by keeping all Dish workers busy.
     
    eddie willers likes this.
  18. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,782
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    I don’t think Dorian affected Michigan at all... ;)
     
    edisonprime likes this.
  19. Partysox

    Partysox SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    819
    Location:
    N central Indiana
    The Debate is on ABC so if you get OTA you can watch it there.
     
    edisonprime likes this.
  20. eddie willers

    eddie willers SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    923
    Likes Received:
    691
    Location:
    Braselton, Ga.
    Ahhh...but it screwed up UPS in the Carolinas and Dish ships a lot of stuff from S.C.
     
    navychop likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...