Dish Pointing - Line of Sight Question

confused_blonde

Original poster
Jun 7, 2007
OK guys, this is my first post and I'm new to all this, so be gentle.:) Oh, I may be confused, but I'm not dumb, ok?;)

I just got a Dish 500 with a 322 Receiver for mainly RV use. I had it set up by an installer in a campground. He just pounded a post into the ground and sat the dish on it. I'm not going to do that, I'll probably get a tripod, but right now I have a large piece of plywood that I have a standard dish mount attached to. I want to play with it in the yard before I go out and make a fool of myself in public.:eek:

Question 1: With the skew set at 128, it's hard to tell what direction the dish is actually looking. What is a good reference point to look at from behind the dish to point it? Most people I know have DTV with a round dish and it's kind of easy to figure out. This isn't as obvious. I bought a compass and one of those cheap sat finder meters from ebay and I know which way SW is.:rolleyes: I also have a level and understand the importance of that. I also am going someplace soon where there are lots of RV's and trees but some gaps to point a dish through, so knowing what part of the dish to point the right way will be very helpful there.

Questions 2: With the elevation at 31, it's not pointing very high. There is a 5' fence in the back yard. About how far do i need to be from the fence for the dish to see the sat over it if the dish is pretty much sitting on the ground?

I think that's it for now. I've read a bunch of stuff here already and think I have the basics down. I just didn't see anything regarding the above 2 questions.

tia!!!

I suspect you already know this, but when you travel from one location to the next, get the zip code for where you are going either before you leave or when you get there, and then set the SKEW and the ELEVATION for the new location.