Do you need an expensive meter to complete a FTA install?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Alan123

Original poster
Jul 11, 2005
I'm a Michigan satellite installer and have been given my first FTA job. I'm under the impression that I should run out and fork out the $400-$500 for the Birdog meter. Do I have to buy an expensive meter to do a FTA install? I have to properly tune it to the AMC 4 satellite. I'd rather not have to buy an expensive meter but I want the job to go thru so I'll do whatever it takes.
Please e-mail me some advice!

Hello and WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum :wave

A small TV and a LONG run of RG6 coax will get you started thats the way I did it for a few years!

Depending on the receiver it works just as good as a positive ID satellite meter like the Birdog or SatHawk.

Stand by for a review of the Birdog by CASCADE coming soon!

A meter? I've never used a meter. Ever. The fanciest thing I've ever used is a compass to tell me what direction I'm pointed.

There is a meter that has two meters in it, for Dish network, and I think it under $200. Or you can start of with the SF-95 for like under $20 on E-bay.

There is a learning curve so mess around with your dishs first.

Alan123 said:
I'm a Michigan satellite installer and have been given my first FTA job. I'm under the impression that I should run out and fork out the $400-$500 for the Birdog meter. Do I have to buy an expensive meter to do a FTA install? I have to properly tune it to the AMC 4 satellite. I'd rather not have to buy an expensive meter but I want the job to go thru so I'll do whatever it takes.
Please e-mail me some advice!

Alan123 said:
I'm a Michigan satellite installer and have been given my first FTA job. I'm under the impression that I should run out and fork out the $400-$500 for the Birdog meter. Do I have to buy an expensive meter to do a FTA install?

Unless you're offering me an insane price for my Birdog the answer is no.