DVB S2 "Pilot" signal

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

jvinccler

Original poster
Mar 5, 2009
Miami
Coolsat 8000, 8100 and Pansat 9200 HD receivers have the "Pilot On / OFF" function, user selectable.

I did noted, some S2 brodacasts require set the Pilot "On" in order to get signal, others broadcasts does require set the Pilot "Off".

Please, could someone explain what the "Pilot" function is ? :confused:

Thanks in advance. :)

I am by no means an expert on this, and hopefully someone else will eventually chime in too. that being said:
Pilot symbols are added to help maintain frame synchronization.
Phase noise is more detrimental to 8psk than to qpsk so pilot symbols are added to help the demodulator minimize "slips"

if I'm wrong or off on this, hope someone else will chime in.. I'm just reading through the literature trying to learn what all this stuff is myself

hth

DVBs2 Pilots

Hi guys
hope this answers the question much more precisely