DVR upgrade

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

cah1975

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2007
Newbie here....I have been with Dish for about 5 years now and am still using the same receiver (301?) that was initially provided to me. I noticed that in a recent ad that new subscribers are being offered a "FREE" 2 room DVR upgrade. Does "FREE" mean that the 5.98 DVR fee is waived, or does that still have to be paid?

I only have the one receiver and would like to possibly replace it with a DVR receiver. I subscribe to AT100 and pay only 29.99/mo due to getting my locals with my attenna. Is there any way I can continue to get the 29.99 price with a DVR receiver?

free means no upfront cost

there is still a $5.98 dvr fee depending on what package you subscribe to.

If you have an account with dish online you can log in and see the receiver upgrade options available to you

The only way around DVR fees is to get a 501, 508, and 510 model (I think those are the ones) or to buy the AEP programming pack.

I believe the 510 does have the DVR fee. The 501 and 508 do not.

The 721, as stated previously, does not have the DVR fee.

Dvr

Do the receivers you just mentioned have to be purchased or are they free to lease AND no DVR fee? Hope the question makes sense, I'm kind of new to all of the technology

Do the receivers you just mentioned have to be purchased or are they free to lease AND no DVR fee? Hope the question makes sense, I'm kind of new to all of the technology
All fee-free DVRs must be purchased outright and are typically not available new.