FTA/FTV channels

Status
Please reply by conversation.

capin

Original poster
Jan 30, 2016
North Carolina
Hi All,

Firstly, I just wanted to introduce myself.
I moved to North Carolina from the UK back in September. I work as a system's engineer, my primary skill is AIX and storage but I am pretty good on Solaris and Linux too.

European satellite was my hobby in the UK, I had a 1.2m motorised system covering from 12.5W to 42E and maybe a little but further. I've had a few receivers but my latest was the Vu+ Solo2.

Here in NC, I have directv. I went for the HD recording setup in just one room, I don't mind paying the sub for the channels but I don't really like the way directv make you use their kit and then make you pay through the nose for it. I should add that I am completely clueless on US satellite TV.

What I would like to do is to get an FTA setup going in my bedroom using the Vu+. I've done a bit of really initial investigation, I can see that my Directv system seems to be using some satellite(s) around 99-101W but I am not completely sure. I've also read that Directv use almost exclusive Ka band with a little bit of Ku.

So my questions really are -

1. Is it possible to get some FTA channels from the directv satellites?
2. If it is possible, Can I use the Vu+ ?
3. Is there anything like a 'US satellite for dummies' stye guide around anywhere please?

Thanks,

Welcome to SatelliteGuys!
1. No all encrypted and try to break that is illegal here.

FTA is not exactly the same as in Europe here. Here most stuff is scrambled, and they want you to pay.
There is however hundreds of channels open with a proper set-up that is completely legal. :)
I personally am not real familiar with your receiver, but it will work, with it being DVB-S2.
Just ask any question you can think of and read read and read here on the forum.
We will be glad to help guide you into a set-up.