FTA vs Encrypted??

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mrtrance

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Feb 20, 2006
Ok I'm a newbie here put I would like to get some questions answered. So what makes some channels to be fta and others encrypted? Why is that some start out fta then become encrypted (i.e. SBC-TV). What triggers a station to go from fta to encrypted? Why is that all of these stations seem to be globecast? Is it that the encrypted seem to have better programming? Also if it's free than how do they make money since they need to buy space on the satellite to put up their programming? Why is all those arabic and persian channels are fta but the hindi ones all are encrypted or were once fta but moving towards encryption? Please give some feedback.

The answer is money $$$, for some other channels that forever have been FTA the reason for being free is both cultural and religious, for instance several free channels on Hispasat coming from Spain have cultural significance because they are from regions that which to be recognized, some channels are important for tourism such as Canarias Internacional.

Islamic programming is FTA to reach the masses of devotees and non devotees in some cases.

Hindi programming may be at the mercy of Dish Network and Direct TV, they get good money for their packages and definitely would frown at the fact that it's FTA.

Encryption costs money too, one of the reasons some channels are FTA.

As FTA viewership grows because of the relative low cost of setting up, one can only wonder what lays ahead.

I believe that C-band FTA is the safest only because of the practicality of a C-band setup, some countries networks have little to fear in this case, because of footprints that require very large dishes especially in South America , where the affordability of a BUD is out of reach for many people.

As noted above, the main reason channels are encrypted is $$$