Getting the BUD going?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

cliffover3

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 16, 2009
US
Hi all, I have a mesh channel master BUD that has been disconnected for maybe 8yrs. The dish sets 100' to the rear of property. I need to splice the ribbon cable back on,, I cut 6 or 8' off just outside the house, that should't be a problem. I would like to pay for just a movie package and get some FTA.
After reading for about a week here and there I'm finding out the 4DTV Motorola 922 is hard to get and is most likley going to be used. Is the 922 reliable as used condition.
Is there an alternative to this reciever. I'm wondering if the DSR-410 plus a DVB reciever for FTA with a GBox v3000 would work. Or is there another reciever besides the 922 or the DSR-410. New to this stuff would like any suggestions.
Thanks

there are options , but it helps to research and to know what to look for and to ask sellers ( on ebay or wherever)
922 is the newest 4dtv model, will move a big dish & control polarity
920 is a older model , will move a big dish & control polarity
905 was the first 4dtv model and requires another analog receiver to move the dish

several providers are available with some offering al la cart programming.
these units have batteries and some fail, a unit with a failed battery or bad unit id # is toast for the most part. unless you can find someone who can repair like ATS Electronics, Inc. ask seller if battery has been replaced and what the unit id is / if it matches the # on the back of the unit.