Have Ku - Is C-Band Worth The Effort?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

KJ6EO

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 16, 2013
118.3W 34.3N
Hello and thanks for reading my post. I'm a Newbie and just put up my first system (Ku) about a month ago. I bought the MicroHD Receiver, GeoSat 90cm Dish w PLL FLNB, HH Motor DG-380. I have a good OLM meter so that really helped me zero in on my closest true south satellite. Anyway, when all was said and done I could tune in 24 satellites. Could have got more but got range limits on the HH motor. My first blind search yielded 800 channels. After throwing out the scrambled, religious, foreign language channels, I ended up with about 60 meaningful channels in English, and 12 in Spanish. Not bad for free, there ain't much that's free nowadays. Some of the feed channels can be very entertaining at times.

So onto my question. I see that there is quite a few channels on C-Band that I might enjoy. So, I'd have to put up a C-Band Dish and run a dual FLNB (C/Ku). How many satellites can a C-Band Dish tune in. Does the actuator have enough range on it that I could still get all my Ku channels + as many C-Band channels that I could tune in? Or, would it be better to put up a seperate C-Band dish. I seem to like that 6' C-Band dish that Sadoun sells. It's inexpensive so if I wasn't pleased with the channels I got it wouldn't be a big loss money wise should I have to toss it.

So if some of you seasoned veterans would be kind enough to give me some guidance, I would certainly appreciate it.

Regards,

Bill - KJ6EO

welcome :wave
If you have the ability to put up a C-Band dish by all means do it. There is a lot of good stuff out there on C-Band. Here is a real good list of C-Band programming on Free to air
http://www.global-cm.net/MPEGlistCBandUS.html

Even having a fixed dish at say 99W was worth it for me. I had one fixed at 99W and one fixed at 137W (for the hockey from Alaska)