Help a newbie.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lachesis

Original poster
Oct 3, 2009
Iowa
Hello, this is my first post on this forum, so it's safe to say I'm a newbie. Recently I've got my hands on a fairly big DirecWay Hughes Net dish. I was wondering how much use can I get out of it in terms of FTA. The only useful piece of information I found on the LNB was "FSS 10.95-12.75 Ghz". I'm guessing that block under the arm is the transponder, which I probably won't need. I'll try to attach some pictures of it. Any comments/suggestions will be welcome. Thanks.

Attachments

• CIMG3033.JPG
    CIMG3033.JPG
    37.1 KB · Views: 105
  • CIMG3034.JPG
    CIMG3034.JPG
    34.6 KB · Views: 104
  • CIMG3039.JPG
    CIMG3039.JPG
    41.6 KB · Views: 102
Sure, you can find sev threads here about using a direcway dish, they work pretty good. I have some pictures I have to downsize and put up about my direcway dish, mine must've been an earlier concoction because it has a white lnb support and different looking feedhorn. They'd be tricky to put a motor on, but I'm sure it could be done by shedding all the excess weight. Make a pretty good fta dish, have very stable mounts and can be aimed precisely. You can take off that transmitter thing if you like, but it really won't matter to anything if you want to use the dish for fta, just connect cable to the lnb-end of the arm and aim the dish. Mine's aimed at AMC5 right now, but I have a motorized dish or two also. Not sure about that lnbf, maybe somebody else has one. Most of the lnbs on those were standard ku 11.7 to 12.2 types, yours may be a universal lnbf.
edit : I forgot! Welcome to SatelliteGuys. Once you get started with fta, you can never quit!!

direcway dish pics