Help save this install!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

deepdishchad

Original poster
Sep 16, 2006
North Carolina
Hey everyone. I'm a newbie here (though I have lots of experience with satellites) and appreciate any advice you can give.

I'm trying to help a friend install an FTA dish. I bought the Traxis DBS3500 receiver, the Winegard DS2076 dish with an Xtreme II LNBF and an SG2100 DiSecQ1.2 motor (thanks PSB! :hatsoff: ) I've installed it on the roof where I have horizon-to-horizon clear south. The dish is at zip code 28210. All mounts are level and plumb as far as I can tell.

The satellite finder started squealing immediately upon my connecting power. The blind scan confirmed for me I was on AMC9 and I had great signal on the ID bars I put up there. A quick manual jog or two to the west and I hit the MTA programming on AMC3. That's all I've been able to see so far, though if I motor way over to the west I hit two different birds that sets the satellite squealer off but it doesn't appear to be enough signal to lock up the Traxis as it blind searched.

Having thought it over overnight there are two things that I can think of that may be the problem (and of course, the combo of the two or more is a possibility). The first is that I may not have the dish pointing at true south. I think I may be pointed closer to 85 South, hence the dish caught AMC9 on the upswing and AMC3 on the down.

The second is I'm concerned about there being two latitude/elevation settings in my setup, one on the Winegard and one on the DiSeQ. I'm not sure how that combines and it has me puzzled. If you think of other things that may be the problem please let me know.