Help wiring for satellite!

Beachbum

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Feb 27, 2005
PBCH, FL
Well, im new to satellite TV. I currently have all cable, cable TV and high speed internet. I just recently bought an FTA setup to fool around with which brought me to this forum ;) .

I live on an island in northwest Florida which of course was battered by hurricane Ivan, screwed up the house etc.... Yes, Its 6 months later and no there is no progress down here, but there is some normalcy.
Our cable TV line runs across the street from north to south, so far this month the line has been snapped TWICE by who knows what. I believe the snapping of our cable line is intentionally since it only occurs late at night and during the day the debris hauling trucks don't even come close.

I'll live with it for now, but if this happens one more time im giving up! I'll be forced to switch to satellite and then get DSL. Currently the house is gutted and I just recently finished wiring it, obviously I want to make sure its future proof before the drywall goes up!

So far I have 3 cables going into a structured wiring panel: 1 for cable TV, 2 for satellite? Now this 2 wire concept dumbfounds me. And at the wire panel there is one coax that goes to each room which I was planning on attaching an amplified splitter to.

I know with the dual or even triple LNB's there are more than one wires involved in that but those wires are hooked up to a multiswitch and it all boils down to ONE coax which attaches to the receiver? I swear I have seen some receivers that required 2 coax cables from the dish?

I'm very confused.
I included a basic drawing:
sat.JPG

Dtv Dihnetwork Voom ?

It really depends on what you will use for service !
In any case if you run 4 from the dish to your (wire closet) and 2 to every room that you may want a tv in then you should be pretty well set,
for Directv /Dishnetwork or VOOOOM..