Home-Brew Satellite Dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

linuxman

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 16, 2006
North West of St. Louis, MO
Well here is a possibility of a new dish for me to play with.

I am waiting on the guy to call me back, and I might run down and pick it up this evening. :)

It is a little small for C-Band, but might work out real well for Ku.

Here is the guys description from two different emails:

Thanks for response...I remembered this as 7', however, as best as I can measure I get 78" in diameter. The dish is solid metalized reflecting surface in fiberglass. There is no "manufacturer" I designed the system as well as the tracking mechanism. I am a retired biomedical engineer and extra class amateur radio operator and will attempt to answer any technical questions you may have. The attached picture pretty much says it all.

Second email:

Hello again..

Dish was used as prime focus with LNA at focal point in the weather cover. I used it for C-band and had reasonably good success before things started getting scrambled. I have all of my notes for design as well as numerous articles from that time. Sorry photo did not make it, however, I'm attaching to this note.

Here is the pic:

homemade-small-C-band-Dish.JPG

If it works well with Ku, it might be a nice dish.

What do you guys think? :cool:

So you'll mess with a dish that some guy built in his back yard with paper mache and popsicle sticks....but you won't tackle the zenith of dish engineering, the Paraclipse? :confused:

Wacky Missourians. !sadroll

Joking aside though....:D

Nice dish. It will look good with the rest of your farm...what plans in the grand scheme of things does this fit in the Linuxman dish empire? :cool:

You got me rolling in the floor Stogie!!! :D

Nice dish. It will look good with the rest of your farm...what plans in the grand scheme of things does this fit in the Linuxman dish empire?