HOPPER 3 4K QUESTION

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by ejwhite, Jul 14, 2018.

  1. ejwhite

    ejwhite Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have the Hopper with Sling. I now have a 4K TV and I also have Netflix. I know the Hopper 3 is the only Hopper that will handle 4K. I would like to know if the Hopper 3 will show Netfilx 4k if upgraded to the Netflix Premium or would it just come through in 1080?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Dirtydan

    Dirtydan SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Susanville,Ca.
    Yoy need to upgrade Netflix.
     
  3. ejwhite

    ejwhite Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yes, I am aware of that. My question is, if I upgrade Netflix will the Hopper 3 display the Netflix content as 4K? Or, will it just display 1080 like most content on Dish is?
     
  4. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    Earth
    If your internet speed is sufficient Netflix 4k will display in 4k
     
    JSheridan and crodrules like this.
  5. ejwhite

    ejwhite Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thank you, that is what needed to know.
     
  6. jcvaughan

    jcvaughan SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pacifica CA
    I don’t think it will do Netflix in 4K yet. I get the option to watch 4K on my Roku but not when it’s through the hopper.
     
  7. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    55,593
    Likes Received:
    8,985
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    It most certainly will. I just tested my Hopper 3 and I am getting 4K on those programs that are 4K.
     
    HiDefRev likes this.
  8. ChadT41

    ChadT41 THE BEST THERE HAS EVER BEEN

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10,156
    Likes Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Mesa, Az
    I have been watching 4K on Netflix via Hopper for a very long time now.
     
  9. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    The Beach.
    I just checked and I get nothing off Netflix via an H3 in 4K. All titles that are said to be in 4K say HD. I go to the app on my TV and I get HDR & Ultra HD 4K. Got the World Cup in HDR UHD 4K.
     
  10. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    55,593
    Likes Received:
    8,985
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Try a red button reboot on your H3. I’ve to do that more than once to get Netflix to play 4K.
     
  11. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    The Beach.
    What a strange world this is. Since I have gotten this unit last May, I have Red Button, Pulled the Plug & Rebooted from the Tools, and still no 4K. BUT from your suggestion I did a RBR and there they are. BUT, again, you have to wait for the box and TV to "talk" or they are HD. I went back to check again and the TV didn't go black and come back and they were HD, then the flash and UHD. Looks like a tad of a Handshake issue . . . I had something like this with my 2008 DLP when 1080i/p came out. The DISH box took its time acknowledging that the TV was capable. Also, I only get UHD and no HDR. Yet, since the WC was in it.

    Thanks for the nudge. I would have thought, "Not yet", maybe with U518 . . .
     
  12. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    55,593
    Likes Received:
    8,985
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    World Cup was HDR on a special channel, as was the last Winter Olympics. The Netflix app on the Hopper doesn't seem to be HDR capable...
     
  13. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    The Beach.
    Well since all this I only got 4K when I played with it during this conversation. Hadn't been able to get it since. It's easier to just use the TV app with guaranteed 4K & HDR. Plus the PQ is better.

    Sent from my SM-T280 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    HiDefRev likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...