Hopper not showing all recordings when transferring to EHD

Traynor

Original poster
Sep 5, 2005
I have the HWS and have transferred recordings to my EHD (Lacie 750gb) with zero problems, until this weekend. Now when I try to transfer something I can only see about 20% of the recordings on the Hopper DVR. If I exit out of the transfer and go back to the DVR all my recordings are there and I can access them all. I thought it might be the EHD, so I swapped it with another Lacie drive unfortunately the result was the same. I talked with Dish tech-support but no resolution yet.

I have been complaining about that same problem since mid 2012.
There seems to be two independent causes.
One is PTAT recordings won't be seen until the 8 day expiration. If you are recording a series that means you won't see the folder in the transfer screen until 8 days after the end of season, unless they go into reruns.

Second seems to be some artificial limitation, so we dummies don't attempt to transfer more at one time than the Hopper can handle. This one is very frustrating because it tends to hide the very programs we wanting to transfer. A simple bit of education telling the maximum amount of programming to transfer at one selection would be much better, or a simple warning dialogue telling us we have reached our limit?

Changing between A-Z and DVR Date, between Folders by Title and No Folders can give access to different sets.
I have seen the limit change from hour to hour and day to day. I've seen between tens and hundreds. How come?
Reducing those accessible at one time will help with accessing the others. More choices for deleting in My Recordings.
It is hard to figure general rules on how many can be accessed at any one time. Explanations welcome.
Sorry, -Ken