How common is rain fade?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

mattopia

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 3, 2005
Parma, OH
DirecTV customer for about a month now. I seem to have a raid fade problem. When it rains "moderately" out (light yellow on weather radar), my HD channels on 103c become choppy/pixelated or drop out completely.

On signal strenth, I get 60s or 70s on most satellites but all zeroes on 103c during a moderate rain. Under normal circumstances, I get mid 80s on 103c.

those look a little low to me - I'm no expert - but most of them should be in the 90's - especially on 100/119 ... it takes a real bad electrical storm to knock out my picture completely .. I'd call them and ask them to come out and re-align your dish ...

I suffered from rain fade. I thought it was normal but I had D* come out to re-align the Dish. After that happened it happens only in the worst of weather.

Have them come realign the dish it worked wonders for me.

Yeah. Rain fade really only should happen with "Auntie Em" weather. Rain fade is really a misnomer. It should be cloud fade. Thick black clouds that blot out the sun are the ones that kill signal from the satellites as well. During the last downpour in this area, where we received something like 10" in two days, I never lost signal. However a brief, but severe T-storm in the right place will knock out signal for anywhere from a few seconds to 15 minutes.

See ya
Tony

Those are low. I would call and get them back out. I would think it should be free since it was not done right the first time.