How would you setup my house?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

csete

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
May 26, 2007
Hello,

I'm a newbie to the forums, so please be gentle with me! We are currently cable customers and I'm getting tired enough of the cable company to be interested in moving to satellite. The problem that I'm having is that I don't know how to structure the television distribution in our house. Let me explain...

We currently have standard (not RG-6) television cable throughout the house. We have not had any televisions die, so we have a bunch of them hooked up to the cable. Most of them are on rarely and that is primarily to watch a few local channels. We have two primary televisions in the house with digital tuners (and one DVR). Those two TV's are the important ones to get full satellite support including tuners and likely DVR's for both (one is HD). I would really like to find a way to get some small subset of channels broadcast to the other TV's but not require a tuner or new cable installations. The ideas I've had so far:

- Keep "basic" cable. This would reduce our monthly bill to the cable company, but I'd prefer not to give them *any* money.
- Install an antenna for OTA. This would require the antenna which I'm not a fan of, as well as potentially requiring tuners on the other TV's.
- Skip a bunch of the TV's altogether.
- Use some sort of television distribution/broadcasting solution along with another satellite tuner. This seems like a relatively complex and expensive solution.

Is there some other options that I'm missing that would work better for this situation?

Thanks,
Craig

One thing you didn't mention that might help with your answer is what are you using for your internet connection? I know with Comcast and Time Warner, if you don't have any level of cable TV service they add around $10 or so to your internet access charge, making things work out so it's almost makes sense to keep basic/lifeline cable TV service.