HR20-700 Dual Inputs

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Twink_23

Original poster
May 10, 2014
Dallas
I'm a newbie so any assistance is appreciated. I'm trying to split a single line into two so I can watch one channel and record another. The equipment I've got is: Satellite WNC Model-AU9 with a single coax going to an HR20-700 receiver. I've tried both a Terk BMS-34 and an Antronix HS-3A but couldn't get either to work. Anyone know if this is possible and which splitter would work???

I'm a newbie so any assistance is appreciated. I'm trying to split a single line into two so I can watch one channel and record another. The equipment I've got is: Satellite WNC Model-AU9 with a single coax going to an HR20-700 receiver. I've tried both a Terk BMS-34 and an Antronix HS-3A but couldn't get either to work. Anyone know if this is possible and which splitter would work???
No, no sort of splitter will work. With the older non-SWM technology like the AU-9, you need a separate cable from the dish to each tuner.
If you want a single line connection to a DVR, you have two options:
1. Run four cables from the dish to an SWM8 multiswitch (with power inserter), then you can run a single cable to the HR20.
2, replace the dish with an SWM dish (either a 3lnb or a 5lnb, depending on whether you need the 119 satellite)

:welcome to Satelliteguys Twink_23!

Texasbrit's advice is spot on. The AU9 is the older type ka/ku dish. You need the AT9 dish. The easiest way is to use a swm lnb with that dish and one cable from the dish to a power inserter to the HR20. That will let you do what you want to.