HR20: HDMI not working with no service?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

lagman

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 7, 2005
All,

I just moved and am waiting for D* to come and install my dish. I hooked up my HR20-700 to my TV and turned it on and noticed the HDMI output doesen't work (Component out does work). All I see is static on the HDMI output. Is this normal? I figured maybe the HDMI output may not work until the satellite is hooked up.

Thanks,
Dan

Just out of curiousity, is it hooked up to a Samsung TV? As a technician myself, I run into this problem frequently on the job. It's always fun explaining to the customer that their brand new TV isn't compatible using the HDMI port on their DVR... as you can imagine ;)

No its a sharp Aquos. Before we moved (and when we had the dish hooked up) it worked fine.

I did try that but it didn't help. Before we moved, the TV I have was able to handle all of the resolution settings.

FYI, I had a HR20-700 that did the exact same thing. Ended up getting a replacement and then it worked fine. One tip that someone did give was that before you plug/unplug the HDMI cable, make sure you power off the receiver.

If anyone out there with a HR20-700 using the HDMI port can try this for me I'd greatly appreciate it:

1. Turn off and unplug power to your box.
2. Unplug the coax coming in from the satellite.
3 Plug in the power cable and turn on your box.

Does the HDMI port put out any video at all, or do you see snow/static?

Thanks,
Dan

Problem fixed here

I had an H20-100S installed yesterday. HDMI wigged out after a few minutes. Tech blamed it on Samsung. Nasty CSR blamed it on Samsung. too. Works fine with Dish 622HZ and my Panasonic DVD player.

Later I checked the boxes output settings Both 480i and 1080i were checked. Disabled 480i and all is now fine.

Remember the Customer is ALWAYS wrong!