I need help locating large C Band dishes for a photography project

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

zibs

Original poster
Jul 14, 2015
Banner Elk, North Carolina
I am a graduate student living in North Carolina. I am studying photography in hope of obtaining my Masters of Fine Art in Photography. I am currently working on a project concerning technology and waste created with due to our quick advancements in technology. I am interested in photographing the large C Band satellite dishes that are still part of our landscape across the country. I am seeking dishes within 3 hours of my home in Banner Elk, North Carolina.

Do you have a dish? It does not have to be connected, working or installed. Would you be willing to be part of my project?

Join my facebook page and hunt for dishes:
https://www.facebook.com/cbanddish

Thank you for your time and consideration,
Cheryl

Let's welcome Cheryl to the site and
Anybody within 3 hours of Cheryl?
Give her a hand.

We're not wasting these dishes, we are reclaiming them and 'recycling' them for use... I am about 4 hours from there, I think. But I have seen several in the area around Gatlinburg, TN, which should be fairly close to Banner Elk.

Reactions: spongella and N6BY
... I am currently working on a project concerning technology and waste created with due to our quick advancements in technology. ...
Why the focus on satellite dishes? We like them here. I think far more 'e-waste' is created by outdated TV's, computers, printers, and set-top boxes.