I'll take "Name that satellite" for $500 please! HELP!

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by primestar31, Jul 8, 2018.

  1. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Ok, at my new house I finally put up an old fixed 3ABN 39" KU dish with a Geosatpro SL2pll Standard Ku dual lnb. I haven't done this up to now, because with the tree cover, I never figured I could get anything, so just didn't bother trying till now. So, I installed this dish on a eve mount, and it's 20~ft above ground level. That helps clearing the close 85ft or so trees.

    Anyway, on my old MicroHD receiver, I was trying to aim for 97W (figured this would be easy, and I'd go from there), and set the elevation to 38 degrees, 12.9 ~ skew and more or less pointed towards ~205magnetic.

    I then set the menu, and did a standard blind scan. Here's the channels I scanned in, and darn if I can figure out what sat this REALLY is! Do you know? What happened to "The List", as I can't find it here anymore...

    1: Interface (playing basketball right now, upper left of screen has MSG logo) 11961/13000
    2: $HSTDv (12074/20000)
    3: $SHOP 1 (12074/20000) Etc right down the list...
    4: $CPACF
    5: $CTV2L
    6: $OMNPR
    7: $CTV-L
    8: $CKSA
    9: $SHOP 2
    10: $RCVu0
    11: $VU22
    12: $SNWL
    13: $CTVNC
    14: $CPAC
    15: $TLC
    16: $HIST
    17: $MTV
    18: $SHOP 3
    19: $CMDYG
    20: $SHOP
     
    #1 primestar31, Jul 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
  2. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    435
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Connecticut
    that stuff looks like what you would find on one of the Canadian satellites (91W) for Bell TV... The content matches what Lyngsat lists for 12224 R 20000 on 91W, so you're off by 150 MHz. Did you set your LNB local oscillator frequency in the receiver to 10600 instead of 10750?

    the basketball stuff is probably a feed on Galaxy 17 @91W

    so, once you check and adjust the LNB setting inthe receiver, move the dish a bit to the west and adjust the elevation very slightly up or down depending on your location. You should find 95W with the CCTV/CGTN transponder, it's powerful and easy to get. Then move a notch further west and you'll find 97W.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  3. iBoston

    iBoston SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    832
    Location:
    North Central
    I was thinking 91w too, but I have never picked up Circular channels on a linear LNBF @91w, so I was second guessing.
     
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I think you nailed it, thanks!. I did set my lnb for 10750, but after your comment, I went back and checked it, and darned if it wasn't somehow changed to 10600! Beats me, must have happened when I exited that part of the menu, but who knows.

    Ok, I suspected 91W myself, but the frequencies threw me off. Now we know why with the bogus LNB LO frequency.
     
    Brct203 likes this.
  5. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    435
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Same here, i'm a bit surprised too, as I ever saw those channels only when I used a circular LNBF. (I do get some transponders on 110W though, with a linear LNBF).
     
  6. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Guess what? Those circular channels do NOT scan in when the LO is set to the regular 10750! Only when it's set to 10600...

    Maybe with that hint, you guys have something new to play with!

    p.s., I went back on the roof, marked where the dish was at 91W, then spun the dish slightly West, and now have 95W with CCTV booming in. Imagine how things could be tomorrow, when I take my receiver with monitor up to the dish on the roof, and REALLY tweak this in!
     
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,500
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    If you look at the default IF range Blind Scan logging on the micro HD between Universal and Standard LNB settings, you will understand why the 10600 LO logs additional transponders. 12.2GHz (1450 IF) is the typical highest NA frequency range of a Standard type linear 10750 LO LNBF.

    Set the LO low frequency to 950 and the high LO frequency to 2150 (typical DVBS tuner range) and the 10750 LO setting will log transponders in the KU high band range (if the LNB frequency filtering allows).

    Purposefully programmed the microHD to log only transponders in the target frequency range fr the LNB type and LO selected.

    Math: 10750 + 950 = 11.700MHz / 10750 + 2150 = 12,900 (above typical KU DBS/DSS frequency range used in North America).
     
    raydio, N5XZS and KE4EST like this.
  8. Alexander Olar

    Alexander Olar SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    Macomb Michigan
    Yup, this is 91W . Just did a blindscan with a circular LNB and all these channels scanned in.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  9. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    97W is a no go, as it appears a twisted branch at the top of the tree may be blocking it. I decided to swing over to the south-east, and I now have 87w Ses2 KU locked in.

    That's it for the night. Now that I proved I can get SOME sats at this new house, I'll go from there to tweak it out as best I can.

    Thanks guys! Amazing how fast you lose this info in the last few years of moving to a house with badly blocked sat arc, so not playing with it all the time.
     
    #9 primestar31, Jul 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
  10. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    780
    Location:
    85w
    Get mr wood chipper out for that tree problem.
     
    raydio, MosFET77 and primestar31 like this.
  11. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I wish, but they are a neighbors tree's.

    I still have an "in the box" Winegard DS-3100 dish I bought in July 2012 and ended up never using. I can unbox that and put up. It's larger, and has better adjustments than this 3ABN dish I have up right now. That should work better.

    Hummm, I just remembered I also have a DG-380 DisEqc motor from Sadoun never used, and still in the box also... I might just have to really go all-out on this setup...
     
    #11 primestar31, Jul 9, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2018
    Brct203 likes this.
  12. MosFET77

    MosFET77 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Helenwood, Tennessee
    And when your done come over to my house and chop down a tall ugly tree of mine lol!
     
    raydio likes this.
  13. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    780
    Location:
    85w
    Since they are neighbors trees a laser or termites can be your best friends.
     
    MosFET77 and raydio like this.
  14. Alexander Olar

    Alexander Olar SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    Macomb Michigan
    Then, they attack your house . I had a problem with carpenter ants two years ago and I had to replace my whole porch. IMG_0239.JPG
     
  15. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I'm about to put up the Winegard DS3100 dish for the first time. I was wondering exactly WHERE the Elevation degree setting is measured from?

    It says in the specs that elevation goes from "0 to 90 degrees". However, to do that it would seem that the approximate centerline of the top bolt at the elevation scale is where/what they are matching to the elevation scale numbers for the exact degree setting you want. If you do it from the straight edge of the inner bracket (like on other dishes), it's not possible to go lower than about 20 degrees.

    Anybody know for sure?

    By the way, if anybody is willing to make the drive to the mid-Michigan area, and has a spare Geosatpro (I'd prefer) or other METAL 1.2m offset dish they don't want anymore, I'll trade them straight up for my Prodelin 6ft (1.8m) composite offset dish I can't use at this house. This dish is HEAVY (probably 150~lbs at least, not including the mount which is more!), and you might need a box truck, or a minimum of a 4ft X 8ft trailer with good ropes to tie it down to haul it. The dish and mount are separated right now, which makes it easier to haul. It probably could be strapped to the bed of a full sized pickup truck, IF you have some rubber mats or thick cardboard to protect things.

    Ok, on this photo from my old house from LEFT to RIGHT for size comparison, we have two Dish 500's, next is a Prodelin 1.2m composite, then the Prodelin 1.8m composite I'm willing to trade off, then a Perfect Ten 10ft c-band dish.

    [​IMG]
     
    #15 primestar31, Jul 18, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2018
    MosFET77 and raydio like this.
  16. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,500
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Take the guess work out of the equation. :) The DS 3100 offset angle is 24°. I recall that the lowest elevation angle is 5°.

    Used to struggle to get 9° elevation out of the DS 3100 for Sky Angel installs in the NW. The arm would often be be hitting the mast or the roof.
     
    raydio and primestar31 like this.
  17. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    780
    Location:
    85w
    I have several dishes down here prime are you needing dish for a motor prime?
     
  18. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Dan, I'm looking specifically for a METAL 1.2 meter dish, as they are lighter weight to put on a HH motor. Which would work much better for me in my present subdivision. I think all those dishes you have stashed are the heavier composite or fiberglass, correct?
     
  19. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    780
    Location:
    85w
    Yes they are. I have extra dishes just you could use them if you were using actuator.
     
  20. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,549
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I got my NOS Winegard DS-3100 1 meter dish installed on a new 7ft pole in the front yard, and on a NOS Sadoun DG-380 HH motor. I have it setup for KU only at the moment on my old MicroHD receiver, and just found out I can actually drive it all the way down to 30W on USALS, and scan in channels! Elevation here is only 16.6 degrees, but I have the pole set so it just barely clears a neighbors tree to the right 214 feet away. I'm going to setup a recording for a couple movies tonight, and see what happens. The farthest West sat I seem to be able to get is 113W Eutelsat 113, before the extremely tall trees that way cut me off due to the elevation. I really didn't want to have a pole taller than 7ft.

    I also have a new Amiko MiniHD265 receiver I have yet to install in place of the MicroHD, and see how that one works.
     
    raydio likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...