It would be nice...

Status
Please reply by conversation.

GreatFTA

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 14, 2006
Mississippi Delta
I like working on computers and am fasinated by the wireless stuff a person can do with a computer. :eureka
And being a FTA hobbyist, I was thinking it would be nice if FTA would go wireless...
no long cable from receiver to dish... :)
Just set up dish, aim, stick wireless antennae on dish, go into house. and program... ;)
Boy, would that revolutize the satellite TV world.... :p
And make someone rich.... :cool:

would make it easier to haul out dish/receiver...

what happens if you have multiple LNB's, how would you control that?

Hmmmm, Iceberg, good question.
Maybe when all the LNB cables go to the multiswitch you have, place the wireless dooda at that point, and set the Diseqc settings from the receiver...
Know what I mean?

Possible sort of...

I like working on computers and am fasinated by the wireless stuff a person can do with a computer. :eureka
And being a FTA hobbyist, I was thinking it would be nice if FTA would go wireless...
no long cable from receiver to dish... :)
Just set up dish, aim, stick wireless antennae on dish, go into house. and program... ;)
Boy, would that revolutize the satellite TV world.... :p
And make someone rich.... :cool:

Indeed that would be great :)

Keep in mind that *each* (standard US) LNB covers 11.7-12.7 or so Ghz, which is a rather huge 1 Gigahertz wide slice of spectrum (it's converted down to about 0.95-2.15 Gigaherz / 950-2150 Mhz IF, but note it's still around 1 Ghz/1000 Mhz wide!)

There's no way the FCC is going to allow you (or anyone) to legally occupy a Ghz (1000 Mhz, or about 50 times wider than the whole FM radio band!) of spectrum for your wireless connection unless it's in the very highest reaches of the microwave spectrum (Think W band!)