Lnb L.O. Drift (Decades <--> H&I)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

TvMind

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 26, 2011
Montreal
Hello again, more Decades/H&I troubles ;)

Ok I took the plunge and finally flashed my microHD with the June 6 th file (latest) to be able to receive all the channels that are closely spaced (4 khz) . This was supposed to fix the problem where Decades would suddenly start pixelating and turn into H&I, that is why I loaded this latest file, otherwise I never would have bothered as I was extremely happy with the Jan 1 file I have been for the longest time.

Now as I am recording the Dobie Gillis binge I noticed the same trouble and quickly caught it by temporarily going to the menu and back to stop the 'morphing'. I am an electronics technician so understand how drift (caused by increased temperatures here now) can cause the local oscillator in the lnb to cause the receiver some confusion - again the tight spacing of only 4 khz ! I have an older lnb and I am sure the specs are woefully out of range by todays standards.

Do you guys and gals think a newer Norsat will do the trick or should I do some more investigating.
If I get a chance I want to spray the electronics with refrigerant to see how much it fluctuates - later when I do some annual tune up work.

In the meantime enjoy the Binge !!

T

I have a similar issue with a PC tuner, but the Ist edition microHD has no issues with the same dish and Norsat PLL LNBs. I'm am going to say you are barking up the wrong tree here thinking it's a drift issue. But I'm no expert ;)

I have observed aging and/or failing DRO LNBFs drift 10MHz or more. More typical to observe 3-5MHz range. The micro was coded for +/-5MHz AFT. While this is great with a centered and stable LNB(f), it could be a problem with a drifting LNB on tightly spaced SCPC channel.

If you don't have access to a spectrum analyzer, try this simple test to determine if it is LNB LO drift causing the problem: